It’s been a very long while since I last posted on the subject. But this has two reasons. First, I’m doing big construction on my house which takes a lot of time.

And second, the commuter bike has retired. I could not manage to maintain two bikes to a high level, for the cost. I found out the wheel set needed to be replaced and there were lots of other things that needed work. So the wear-out test came to a stop. Too bad because I could have driven a lot of more kilometres on it. I will try to do a good enough recap of what I have done.

The chains:

Starting with the chain that wore out the least, the KMC chain. This is also the chain with the most kilometres (4100km). I measured it at an average of 133.6mm. For further details see the picture below. This chain was good throughout the hole test. Now errors in shifting and very reliable. To clean this was also know problem. This is because the chain is smooth and polished.

The Shimano chain was in between, I measured it at an average of 133.6mm, with 3900km ridden with it. Cleaning of this chain was more difficult. I think this is because the raw metal so dirt and grease stick better.

The Miche chain was worn out the most. But this could be due to the effect that it was ridden 3 times in a heavy rain period. I measured it at an average of 134.2mm, with 4000 kilometres ridden with it. Cleaning was good on the chain since it’s completely polished.

wp_20170629_12_15_46_pro.jpg
KMC (Top), Shimano (Middle), Miche (Bottom)

The Cassette:

When I first started the test I really was in doubt using a Shimano Dura-Ace. But it turned out pretty good. The cassette is worn but could have taken some kilometres. This shifting got a little worse in the last months, but that’s all. The cassette has had 13000km ridden on it.

The Chainring:

This was for me a little question mark. The Narrow wide chain rings are almost al made of Aluminium (hard anodized). The anodizing helps a little in the beginning in terms of wear. But after a while it wears of. The Wolftooth components chainring was really good. It never dropped my chain, even in the last months when the wear was visually more. The wear of the chainring surprised me in a positive way. It still could have taken a couple of more kilometres. The chainring has had 13000km ridden on it.

wp_20170707_11_54_29_pro.jpg

Lube:

As for this test I exclusively used Pedro products. The Bio cleaner was nice to work with. Defiantly not aggressive and easy to use. For the chain I used the Syn-lube. A good lube, but one drawback I found that you have lots of access dirt on the chain sides. But more on this later.

Recap:

KMC chain 132.2mm (0km) > 133.6mm (4100km). That’s  1.4mm of wear.

Shimano chain 132.3 (0km) > 133.6mm (3900km). That’s  1.3mm of wear.

Miche chain 132.4mm (0km) > 134.2mm (4000km). That’s  1.8mm of wear.

All in all they are very close to each other with the most wear on the Miche chain. But this is also not a very good compromise due to the ever changing weather circumstances.

Conclusion:

So what is there to learn about this, I think the method of using 3 chains and cycle them can really help save money in the end. But this need further examine. That’s why I will start another test later this year. This will be with 1 chain, cassette and chainring. I’m currently testing other lubes methods for the chain which I will be adding to this test.

Unfortunately the MTB test with the 3 chains also stopped. I’ve had a couple of not so good experiences with the Miche chains as all 3 chains have broken on me and had several cracks on them.

And since my MTB is know my main bike for commuting and MTB I will blend the new test. So I will be back soon with the new test later this year.

Thanks for reading as this has been 1,5 year of collecting data.

 

Bye