There’s a saying in cycling “There is no bad weather, just bad clothing”. That’s why I’m always on a search for good rain clothing. There are lots of players in the cycling market who have your typical cycling kit. But there are just one handful of companies that have good rain protective clothing.

Showers Pass is one of them. As I’m always on the lookout for new cycling clothing and gadgets, my eyes fell on this Portland (USA) based company. The specialize in cycling clothing for commuters. I first found them when I was browsing on Bikerumor. There was a add of Showers Pass about Waterproof socks. The price was very reasonable, lower than the Sealskinz socks. So gave it a shot and bought a set.

crosspoint-socks-puddle

I got them within a couple of days, since they distribute Europe from the UK. Straight out of the box the first thing I noticed is the thickness of the socks. You could get in trouble if you have very tight cycling shoes. It took me a couple of days to get used to. It’s like getting in a thick sleeve.

Now I have them for almost 3 months and whore them in rain conditions. They do what they have to do. Keep your feet dry. I even did the test by putting on the socks and stepped in a bucket of water. Result the outside is wet but the inside is dry. They also work really well in cold conditions since they are windproof as well.

Off course there are some draw bags. When you don’t where a rain pant, and rain is pouring down your feet could get wet from the water that’s running down from your legs.

This illustration helps to understand this:

showers-pass-crosspoint-waterproof-sock-waterproof-illustration

Conclusion, there a great value for money and a company ith very good service. So don’t let rain stop you from riding your bike outside.

